Christmas Advent Hunt

With three children at this particular time of the year our house is bursting at the seams with excitement. To count down the days until 25th December the boys have the normal chocolate character advent calenders to open up every day that Daddy bought for them from the supermarket but we also do our own little personalised advents too, jut to add to the excitement.

We have 24 little stockings hanging from string running up our staircase, in each little stocking there is either a little chocolate, sweet, money and the boys favourite is little favours from Mummy and Daddy for example ‘a great big hug and a squeeze from mummy’ or ‘a choice of dinner’.

Children love the excitement of opening a gift and not knowing what they have received so this year in our house we are doing an Advent Hunt.

Each day through December til the 25th I will fill up a gift bag displaying the day on it ie: 1,2,3,4,5 etc and inside will be a little gift for them.
I will hide it around the house each day in a different place and at different times of the day for them to find.

So far day 1 was hidden on the sticks in the corner of the living room, day 2 was in the kitchen, day 3 was hanging on the key hooks and day 4 was on the tree.
I place crafts, pencils, small toys, Lego pieces, clothes and stickers in them.

20121205-215135.jpg

The boys love hunting out there next gift and they never know what’s inside, I love looking at their little faces full of excitement and surprise. Not only are they playing a game but are being rewarded at the same time.
When they see the gift bag they scream and shout to each other and jump up and down “I found it, I found it!” You can hear them saying.

I think this advent hunt will now become one of our Christmas activities to do every year 🙂

About mumof3musketeers

I'm a mum of three boys, Jak who is 16 years old, Joseph who is 11 and the youngest Oliver who is 7 years old. I work as a CA at a primary school and love my job. My boys are child models and belong to a modelling agency. I studied at college and university in Fashion and recently passed my level 3 in Childcare. My partner is a keen cyclist and won a national title in amateur boxing in 2007, as a family we love caravan holidays and being outdoors.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Advent Hunt

  1. audreycard@btinternet.com says:

    You could do little tasks mixed in as well so Mum and Dad can get a treat. Like put shoes away, read to mum for 5 mins etc. Audrey

    ________________________________

  2. such a good idea- will do this next year i think 🙂 x

    • I have used the same gift bag everyday so far too, so instead of filling up 24 bags of gifts I just refill the same one day after day and just use different crepe paper inside 🙂

Leave a comment